Nancy Sirett Memorial Lecture Award

The Nancy Sirett Memorial Lecture Award recognises an outstanding research career in the field of Endocrinology in NZ.  The award comprises a certificate and a plenary lecture at either the Annual Scientific or the Clinical Meeting, and complimentary registration. There is not always an award given every year.


This will be a NZSE member with extensive research experience output and impact in any field of Endocrinology, post-higher degree (PhD, MD or FRACP).  The awardee must attend either the Annual Scientific or Clinical Meeting to present their lecture.


Applications should include:

  1. A one-page summary of the applicant’s major scientific contributions.
  2. A brief CV (5 page limit), including but not limited to the following subheadings:
    • publications from the last 5 years and a list of best 10 career publications
    • grants (current and previous, last 5 years)
    • peer recognition: invitations to speak – contributions to research training
    • contributions to NZSE and other professional activities
    • contributions to teaching
  3. A letter of support from nominating NZSE member

To apply for this award, send a brief CV and supporting materials as attachments to our contact email.

Applications close April 30.

Past Nancy Sirett Lecturers

2021 - No Nancy Sirett award

Prof Mark Vickers

2020, Liggins Institute, University of Auckland – Developmental programming of health and disease - insights from animal models (online minisymposium)

Associate Professor Graham Barrell

2019, Lincoln University – Lessons from the larger animals (NZSE meeting at MedSci, Queenstown)

Prof Jillian Cornish

2018, University of Auckland – Lactoferrin, an endogenous growth factor, immunomodulator and antimicrobial, is anabolic to bone (NZSE meeting at MedSci, Queenstown)

Dr Chris McMahon

2017, ManukaMed LP, Hamilton – Muscle, meat, marbling and medicine: the growth axis in livestock and biomedicine (NZSE meeting at MedSci, Queenstown)

Prof Vicky Cameron

2016, University of Otago, Christchurch heart Institute – If I can stop one heart from breaking, I shall not live in vain (NZSE meeting at MedSci, Queenstown)

Prof Chris Charles

2015, University of Otago, Christchurch Heart Institute – Heart hormones: Physiology as the key link between discovery and translation (NZSE meeting at MedSci, Queenstown)

Assoc Prof Kathy Mountjoy

2014, University of Auckland – (NZSE meeting at MedSci, Queenstown)

Prof Dave Grattan

2011, University of Otago – (NZSE meeting at MedSci, Queenstown)

Pre-2009 Nancy Sirett awardees

2008    Ian Reid “Treating bone disease : new challenges, new possibilities”

2007    Jeff Keelan “Placental mediators of pregnancy and parturition” (combined meeting with ESA)

2006    John Bass “Male, meat, muscle”

2005    Jean Fleming “Incessant ovulation, inflammation and epithelial ovarian carcinogenesis”

2004    Ken McNatty “The oocyte and its role in regulating ovulation rates in mammals”

2003    No Nancy Sirett lecturer identified in proceedings

2002    No Nancy Sirett lecturer identified in proceedings

2001    No Nancy Sirett lecturer identified in proceedings

2000    Eric Espiner “The endocrine heart”

1999    No Nancy Sirett lecturer identified in proceedings

1998    John France “Placental hormones and the onset of labour in human pregnancy”

1997    H Kaye Ibbertson “Life without iodine” (combined meeting with ESA)

1996    Robert Averill “Studies on prolactin surges in the rat”

1995    Glen Metcalf “On the fringes of endocrinology: the premenstrual syndrome”

1994    Ailsa Goulding “Oestrogen deprivation and bone health”